About us

The Dun Laoghaire Borough Historical Society was started by a number of people who came together out of a love of local environment, its history, and its environs. Its first meeting was in the rooms of Dun Laoghaire Credit Union, at 21 Longford Terrace, Monkstown on the 21st April 1978. It was formed with the following officers:
President: John O’Donovan Vice President: Brendan O’Cearbhaill
Hon Sec: Dermot Dwyer Hon Treasurer: Mona O’Donnell
Ann Peters, Mairin Cullen, Jenny Gibbons, Sup. Sean O’Colmain,
  Dr. Jim Gowan, Michael McGovern.
The first lecture was held in the Royal Marine Hotel, Dun Laoghaire on Tuesday 20th June, 1978. The title of the lecture was, “An Evening of Local History”, given by Dr. J. E Gowan. This lecture proved to be so popular that 160 squeezed into the old “Connaught Room”, and another 40 people were turned away. The following week the lecture was repeated to another packed house, and thus the Society was born.